First World Post

What a strange social turn we’ve taken that most of our complaints start with a disclaimer. “I know this is a First World Problem, but…” or, “I know this is trivial, but…”  We like big buts (and we can totally lie). I don’t know about the rest of you, but I do it mainly so I don’t incur the wrath of militant Social Justice Warriors and/or that one annoying fried who doesn’t understand hyperbole and thinks “counting ur blessings!!1!” is a legitimate replacement for anti-depressants. 

The fact that I have a shit time almost every time I drag my ass out of the house to go to the park with my two healthy kids on a beautiful day does not mean that I think it’s on the same level as living somewhere with no clean water or wifi (the horror!!!). And neither does the fact that there are seriously horrific things happening in the world mean that I didn’t feel any less shitty sitting in that park, trying to keep S from eating rocks, worrying that M was going to (once again) get stuck on top of the climbing structure and require assistance getting back down, and listening to the trio of women next to me talking about withholding sex from their husbands until they do more around the house. (…wut?)

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been given grief for being honest about feeling sad or frustrated or angry about something that, in the grand scheme of things, is incredibly trivial. Or even for waxing vitriolic about something that, at its essence, is fairly benign. I still remember my claim that “Yo Gabba Gabba is the worst thing in the history of ever!” was met with, “Really? A children’s show is worse than Hitler?” To which I say, golly gee, you’re right! Giant dancing puppets on crack are NOT worse than a genocidal maniac with ridiculous facial hair. Thank you so much for showing me the error of my ways! Here’s a special gift from me to you! Also, I think you’ll really enjoy this. Thanks again, friend!

I tell M that he should never apologize for how he is feeling at any given moment, and yet I find myself doing it all the time. I have friends apologize to me for expressing their feelings all the time. I see and hear it everywhere, and it sucks. I also see and hear people laughing at the “problems” of those more fortunate than your average First World inhabitant, and that sucks too. A feeling is a feeling, and yet we question the legitimacy based on privilege and circumstance. It’s become a vicious cycle and it’s getting old. So please, don’t ever feel the need to apologize to me about having a shit day. I get it. We’ll get through it together. 

Just #CountUrBlessings!!1!1!

-C

3 thoughts on “First World Post

  1. hahahahahaha! Amen! I think I just wrote something about that in my last post, to the effect of, “I really don’t have the right to complain, but…” Basically a disclaimer for when people holler at me for complaining about something they view as trivial. Thanks for addressing this issue head on!

    Like

    1. I am totally guilty of that kind of disclaimer (particularly online) as I think it helps discourage the conversation from becoming a pissing contest of suffering. It’s when it bleeds into real life conversations that it makes me crazy! I don’t want my friends to feel bad about having a shit day and whining about it to me! That’s what friends are for! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

